Tehran (Iran)

Tehran is the capital of Iran and Tehran Province. With a population of around 9 million in the city and 16 million in the wider metropolitan area, Tehran is the largest city and urban area of Iran.

The city lies south of the Alborz mountain range and the Caspian Sea in the Iranian Highlands at around 1191 meter above sea level.

Tehran was first chosen as the capital of Iran by Agha Mohammad Khan of the Qajar dynasty in 1796, in order to remain in close reach of Iran's territories in the Caucasus, at that time still part of Iran, and to avoid vying factions of previous Iranian dynasties. The capital has been moved several times throughout the history, and Tehran is the 32nd national capital of Iran.

The twenty closest neighbours in the database:

Isfahan (Iran) (339 km), Nain (Iran) (350 km), Meybod (Iran) (452 km), Yazd (Iran) (507 km), Baku (Azerbaijan) (540 km), Persepolis and Naqsh-e Rustam (655 km), Shiraz (Iran) (684 km), Dubai (United Arab Emirates (1,219 km), Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates) (1,280 km), Dnipropetrovsk (Ukraine) (1,955 km), Cairo (Egypt) (1,982 km), Istanbul (Turkey) (2,039 km), Temple of Dendera (2,075 km), Temples of Karnak (2,103 km), Temple of Luxor (2,106 km), Temple of Queen Hatshepsut (2,106 km), Temple of Edfu (2,136 km), Temple of Kom Ombo (2,169 km), Assuan (Egypt) (2,196 km), Temple of Philae (2,202 km)

Take a birds-eye view of the current location:

Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Bing Maps, Yahoo!Maps