San Juan (Puerto Rico)

San Juan is the capital and most populous municipality in Puerto Rico, an unincorporated territory of the United States. In 1508, Juan Ponce de León founded the original settlement Caparra (named after the province Caceres, Spain, the birthplace of then-governor of Spains Caribbean territories Nicolás de Ovando), which today is known as the Pueblo Viejo sector of Guaynabo, just to the west of the present San Juan metropolitan area. A year later, the settlement was moved to a site then called Puerto Rico, Spanish for rich port or good port, after its similar geographical features to the island of Gran Canaria in the Canary Islands.

The twenty closest neighbours in the database:

Miami (USA) (1,669 km), Panama City (Panama) (1,790 km), Orlando (USA) (1,919 km), Atlanta (USA) (2,491 km), Washington D.C. (USA) (2,507 km), New York (USA) (2,589 km), Boston (USA) (2,700 km), Toronto (Canada) (3,069 km), Montreal (Canada) (3,087 km), Detroit (USA) (3,102 km), Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village (3,108 km), Ottawa (Canada) (3,127 km), Galveston (USA) (3,151 km), Houston (USA) (3,216 km), St. Louis (USA) (3,234 km), The Art Institute of Chicago (3,309 km), Chicago (USA) (3,312 km), Milwaukee (USA) (3,417 km), Austin (USA) (3,452 km), San Antonio (USA) (3,500 km)

Take a birds-eye view of the current location:

Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Bing Maps, Yahoo!Maps