Syracuse (Italy)

Syracuse (Italian: Siracusa, Sicilian: Sarausa, Classical Greek: Συρακοῦσαι / transliterated: Syrakousai) is a historic city in southern Italy, the capital of the province of Syracuse. The city is noted for its rich Greek history, culture, amphitheatres, architecture and association to Archimedes, playing an important role in ancient times as one of the top powers of the Mediterranean world; it is over 2,700 years old. Syracuse is located in the south-east corner of the island of Sicily, right by the Gulf of Syracuse next to the Ionian Sea.

The city was founded by Ancient Greek Corinthians and became a very powerful city-state. Syracuse was allied with Sparta and Corinth, exerting influence over the entire Magna Grecia area of which it was the most important city. Once described by Cicero as "the greatest Greek city and the most beautiful of them all", it later became part of the Roman Republic and Byzantine Empire. After this Palermo overtook it in importance, as the capital of the Kingdom of Sicily. Eventually the kingdom would be united with the Kingdom of Naples to form the Two Sicilies until the Italian unification of 1860.

In the modern day, the city is listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site along with the Necropolis of Pantalica. In the central area, the city itself has a population of around 125 thousand people, the inhabitants are known as Siracusans, the local language spoken by its inhabitants is the Sicilian language. Syracuse is mentioned in the Bible in the Acts of the Apostles book at 28:12 as Paul stayed there.[1] The patron saint of the city is Saint Lucy, she was born in Syracuse and her feast day, Saint Lucy's Day, is celebrated on 13 December.

The twenty closest neighbours in the database:

Catania (Italy) (50 km), Taormina (Italy) (86 km), Malta (148 km), Rome (Italy) (587 km), Dubrovnik (Croatia) (663 km), Split (Croatia) (721 km), Mostar (Bosnia and Herzegovina) (727 km), Sibenik (Croatia) (741 km), Krka National Park (749 km), Zadar (Croatia) (782 km), Venice (Italy) (960 km), Genoa (Italy) (974 km), Principality of Monaco (994 km), Verona (Italy) (996 km), Nice (France) (1,000 km), Sirmione (Italy) (1,012 km), Asti (Italy) (1,052 km), Milan (Italy) (1,061 km), Turin (Italy) (1,091 km), Como (Italy) (1,099 km)

Take a birds-eye view of the current location:

Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Bing Maps, Yahoo!Maps