Strasbourg (France)

Strasbourg is the capital and principal city of the Alsace région of northeastern France, with approximately 650,000 inhabitants in the metropolitan area in 1999. Located close to the border with Germany, it is the préfecture (capital) of the Bas-Rhin département.

The city is the seat of the Council of Europe, of the European Court of Human Rights and of the European Parliament, though the latter also holds some sessions in Brussels.

Strasbourg is chiefly known for its sandstone Gothic cathedral with its famous astronomical clock, and for its medieval cityscape of Rhineland black and white timber-framed buildings, particularly in the Petite-France district alongside the Ill and in the streets and squares surrounding the cathedral, where the renowned Maison Kammerzell stands out.

The twenty closest neighbours in the database:

Château du Haut-Königsbourg (48 km), Freiburg im Breisgau (Germany) (67 km), Karlsruhe (Germany) (68 km), Technik-Museum Speyer (96 km), St. Blasien (Germany) (96 km), Speyer (Germany) (97 km), Bad Dürkheim (Germany) (102 km), Schwetzingen (Germany) (107 km), Ludwigsburg (Germany) (111 km), Sinsheim (Germany) (111 km), Mannheim (Germany) (113 km), Basel (Switzerland) (114 km), Heidelberg (Germany) (115 km), Augusta Raurica (117 km), Ladenburg (Germany) (117 km), Rhine Falls (119 km), Sigmaringen (Germany) (122 km), Liestal Fasnacht 2014 (124 km), Maginot Fort Hackenberg (132 km), Lake-dwelling Museum of Unteruhldingen (146 km)

Take a birds-eye view of the current location:

Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Bing Maps, Yahoo!Maps