Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam)

Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnamese: Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh), formerly named Saigon (Vietnamese: Sài Gòn), is the largest city in Vietnam. It was once known as Prey Nokor, an important Khmer sea port prior to annexation by the Vietnamese in the 17th century. Under the name Saigon, it was the capital of the French colony of Cochinchina and later of the independent republic of South Vietnam 1955–75. On 2 July 1976, Saigon merged with the surrounding Gia Định Province and was officially renamed Ho Chi Minh City after Hồ Chí Minh.

The twenty closest neighbours in the database:

Mekong Delta (55 km), Temple of Bakong (410 km), East Mebon Temple (423 km), Temple of Banteay Kdei (424 km), Temple of Ta Prohm (425 km), Angkor Wat (425 km), Temple of Neak Pean (426 km), Angkor Thom (427 km), Temple of Preah Kahn (428 km), Temple of Banteay Srei (432 km), Temples of My Son (579 km), Hoi An (Vietnam) (599 km), Hue (Vietnam) (643 km), Bangkok (Thailand) (752 km), Halong Bay (1,130 km), Hanoi (Vietnam) (1,147 km), Hangzhou (China) (2,581 km), Nanjing (China) (2,674 km), Shanghai (China) (2,739 km), Bangalore (India) (3,169 km)

Take a birds-eye view of the current location:

Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Bing Maps, Yahoo!Maps